PFA Player of the Year Shortlist Announced

The six contenders for the PFA Premier League player of the year have been announced. Who is the most deserving winner?

The six players who have been judged to have performed the best in this seasons Premier League have been announced. Last season saw the award go to Eden Hazard, who helped guide Chelsea to the Premier League title. All six players nominated for this seasons award are worthy contenders. However only one can claim it. Which player deserves to pick up the accolade, and be recognised as the best player in the Premier League for 2016?

PFA Shortlist
Jamie Vardy
N’Golo Kante
Riyad Mahrez
Dimitri Payet
Mesut Ozil
Harry Kane

Jamie Vardy has been sensational this season. His goals for Leicester City have played a vital role in taking the club to the summit of the Premier League. His determination and enthusiasm epitomise everything good about Leicester this year. Vardy has gone from playing non league football six seasons ago-to now being one of the most deadly strikers in English football. His form for Leicester also earned him a call-up for England. He scored two goals in two games, to further establish his growing reputation. It is without doubt the best season to date in Vardy’s career, and he deserves the recognition he is receiving.

Nobody has impressed me more this season than N’Golo Kante. The tough-tackling central midfielder plays a key role for Leicester, and he is one of the main reasons for the club’s recent success. Kante possesses all the attributes required to be a world-class defensive midfield player. His tackling, strength, and reading of the game has seen him become an instant success in the Premier League. Without him, Leicester wouldn’t be sitting at the top of the table. Kante’s club form was recently awarded with a call up to the french squad. He is now not only the best in his position in the Premier League, he is one of the best in world football.

Riyad Mahrez is another Leicester player shortlisted for the PFA player of the year award. Which goes to show how good Leicester City have been this season. Mahrez has established himself as one of the best players currently playing in England. There have been times this season in which Mahrez has produced a single moment of magic to win a game. He is entertaining to watch, but also comes up with the end product more times than not. Mahrez’s goals and assists have been vital in Leicester’s title challenge. I believe that on the form we have seen this season, he is good enough to play for any club in the world.

West Ham United’s signing of Dimitri Payet has proved to be the best signing of the summer in the Premier League. Payet has an incredible amount of talent, he is the catalyst for West hams great season. Payet’s skill, vision, and technique are second-to-none. He has adapted to the demands of the Premier league with ease in his first season. His recent call-up for the French national squad has put him in contention for a place at Euro 2016. He has also proven to be a free-kick specialist. The talented Frenchman has earned many admirers for his performances this season, if he is to win the PFA player of the year award, it will be well-deserved.

Mesut Ozil has been the jewel in the crown for Arsenal this season. We have witnessed the best of the talented German for the first time in the Premier League. He has proven why he is regarded as one of the best play-makers in world football. No player creates more chances, or records more assists than Ozil. His weight of pass is near perfect all of the time. He has a way of playing the game that is easy on the eye, the casualness adds to his brilliance. At his best, Ozil is one of the best players around to watch. He will be key to Arsenal, if the club are to challenge for silverware in the foreseeable future.

Harry Kane was sensational for Tottenham Hotspurs last season. This season he started off slowly, many people were beginning to question him. Kane has hit back in spectacular fashion, and emulated his heroics from last season. With 22 goals, Kane is now the top goalscorer in the Premier League. But Tottenham’s main man offers much more than just goals. He epitomises everything which has been installed in the club by manager Mauricio Pochettino. Hard work, determination, and off-the ball running, Kane does it all. He deserves to be shortlisted for this award. As in the last two seasons, he is the most prolific striker in England.

All of the contenders shortlisted have a case to be named PFA player of the year. All have been brilliant individually. The clubs they play for wouldn’t be in the position they find themselves now in, without the efforts of these six players. Every football fan will have their own opinion as to who should win the award. For me, it would have to be Riyad Mahrez. Especially if Leicester City go on to win the league. Mahrez creates chances, guarantees goals, and has been one of the most entertaining players to watch in the Premier League this season. For all of that, he deserves this award the most.

Discussion feed

Up next in