Johnny Marr to release new album

Mancunian guitarist and former Smiths member Johnny Marr will be releasing his new album this summer.

Former Smiths guitarist turned solo artist Johnny Marr has announced that he will be releasing another album, following The Messenger (2012) and Playland (2014). Call The Comet will be out on June 15th with its first single The Tracers already available for your listening pleasure.

Whilst it isn’t as exciting news as a Smiths reunion, it is still something to look forward to as the Mancunian guitarist has certainly not lost his touch, especially after collaborations with legendary composer Hans Zimmer.

In an interview with NME, Marr said: “Call The Comet’ is my own magic realism.”

“It’s set in the not-too-distant future and is mostly concerned with the idea of an alternative society. The characters in the songs are searching for a new idealism, although there are some personal songs in there too. It’s something that people like me can relate to.”

The tracklist for Call The Comet is as follows:

  • ‘Rise’
  • ‘The Tracers’
  • ‘Hey Angel’
  • ‘Hi Hello’
  • ‘New Dominions’
  • ‘Day In Day Out’
  • ‘Walk Into The Sea’
  • ‘Bug’
  • ‘Actor Attractor’
  • ‘Spiral Cities’
  • ‘My Eternal’
  • ‘A Different Gun’
Discussion feed

Up next in music