Jurassic Park's most Recognisable Characters will not return for Jurassic World

Jurassic World announces the absence of three iconic characters as fourth installment begins filming

Jeff Goldblum, Sam Neill and Laura Dern will not star in Colin Trevorrow’s Jurassic World, it was announced this week. Characters Ian Malcolm (Goldblum), Alan Grant (Neill) and Ellie Sattler (Dern) were fan favourites throughout the original Steven Spielberg produced trilogy, but none will be featured in the upcoming installment.

Speaking of the anticipated fourth installment, director Trevorrow said, “I know a lot of fans want to see the original characters back, they’re iconic. But I respect those actors too much to shoehorn them into this story for my own sentimental reasons. Jurassic Park isn’t about the bad luck of three people who keep getting thrown into the same situation. The only reason they’d go back to that island is if the screenwriters contrived a reason for them to go.”

Jurassic World will begin filming in the next few months, with Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard set to take on the leading roles. The film is set for release on June 12, 2015.

Sources: Guardian
Discussion feed

Up next in movies