Berlinale 2014: The Winners

Awards have been handed out at the prestigious Berlinale Film Festival, British director Ken Loach is given an honorary Golden Bear

After ten days of showcasing the cream of international cinema, awards have been handed out at this year’s Berlinale Film Festival.

This year’s Grand Jury was made up of James Schamus (President), Barbara Broccoli (of Bond fame), Trine Dyrholm, Mitra Farahani, Greta Gerwig, Michel Gondry and actor Christoph Waltz.

The coveted Golden Bear went to Chinese film Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice) from director Diao Yinan, the story of a detective finding himself drawn to a mysterious woman who is linked to a series of murders. The film’s star Liao Han was also awarded Best Actor. The Silver Bear went to Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel starring Ralph Fiennes, and Best Actress to Haru Kiroki for Yoji Hamada’s The Little House. The Honorary Golden Bear went to British director Ken Loach, in honour of his astonishing contribution to cinema over a 50 year career.

Take a look below the full list of Berlinale winners…


Golden Bear for Best Film: Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice) (Diao Yinan)

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize: The Grand Budapest Hotel (Wes Anderson)

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize: Aimer, Boir et Chanter (Life of Riley) (Alain Resnais)

Silver Bear for Best Director: Richard Linklater (for Boyhood)

Silver Bear for Best Actress: Haru Kiroki (The Little House, Yoji Yamada)

Silver Bear for Best Actor: Liao Fan (Bai Ri Yan Huo, Diao Yinan)

Silver Bear for Best Script: Dietrich Brüggemann, Anna Brüggemann (Kreuzweg, Dietrich Brüggemann)

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution: Zeng Jian (for the camera in Tui Na)



Golden Bear for Best Short Film: Tant Qu’il Nous Reste des Fusils a Pompe (As Long as Shotguns Remain, Caroline Poggi, Johnathan Vinel)

Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film): LABORAT (Guillaume Cailleau)

Berlin Short Film Nominee for the European Film Awards 2014: Taprobana (Gabriel Abrantes)

DAAD Short Film Prize 2014: Person to Person (Dustin Guy Defa)


Best First Feature Award, endowed with € 50,000, funded by GWFF: Güeros (Alonso Ruizpalacios)


The Berlinale Camera: Karl “Baumi” Baumgartner (Producer and Distributor)


Honorary Golden Bear: Ken Loach (Director)

Discussion feed

Up next in movies